Pen Pals by Martin Gore

Summary: Pen Pals tell the story of Murgatroyd Pens, an iconic British brand produced in an old mill town in northern Britain, and of the Murgatroyd family who created it. As with all families they have secrets, and decisions made previously come back to haunt them. In strike torn 1976 family matriarch Jean Murgatroyd is faced with an impossible decision as her headstrong son James runs the business towards bankruptcy. In 2000 Jean dies and the long standing emnities of the family surface in a battle for the future of Murgatroyds and with it the future of the one horse northern town in which it operates.

I got my serving of an epic family saga by reading this book. I loved the pace and if there is one thing that I believe the author succeeds in with this one, is that he does not spill the beans or reveal the mystery behind what unfolds in the book. He leaves all this to the reader and it is a great feeling to be immersed in a story.

I got this off NetGalley and I am grateful to them, Troubador Publishing Limited and especially Martin Gore because I am looking forward to reading more of his books.

Release date: June 18, 2017

Get a copy on amazon today: Kindle $5.79 and Paperback $12.99, here’s the link.

 

